Getty Images

How the Triple Truck Challenge works

The Triple Truck Challenge is a series of races in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series designed to give attention to series regulars with added incentive given to race wins. The program debuted in 2019.

The schedule for 2022 is as follows: Worldwide Technology Raceway (June 4), Nashville Superspeedway (June 24) and Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course (July 9).

In 2021, “The Trip” consisted of three consecutive NASCAR Camping World Truck Series races, beginning at Darlington Raceway and continuing at Circuit of The Americas and at Charlotte Motor Speedway. Over that span, drivers competed for an additional $50,000 bonus for winning a race. If a driver were to win multiple events, the bonus money would have increased up to a total of $500,000 for sweeping all three races.¬†Sheldon Creed, Todd Gilliland and John Hunter Nemechek won the Triple Truck Challenge races in 2021, respectively.

The first Challenge consisted of three consecutive races, held at Texas Motor Speedway, Iowa Speedway and Gateway Motorsports Park. Only drivers eligible for Truck Series points could be on the entry lists for those races. Greg Biffle came out of retirement to win the first Triple Truck Challenge event in 2019 at Texas, driving for Kyle Busch Motorsports. Other winners that year were Brett Moffitt at Iowa and Ross Chastain at Gateway.

The 2020 Triple Truck Challenge was originally scheduled to take place April 18 at Richmond Raceway, May 1 at Dover International Speedway and May 15 at Charlotte Motor Speedway. It was rescheduled because of the COVID-19 outbreak and NASCAR’s subsequent pause from racing. The 2020 races were changed to the Daytona International Speedway road course, a rescheduled Dover date and one at Gateway. They were won by Creed, Zane Smith, and Creed, respectively.